Mittsu No Kokoro

One of the central philosophies of Karatedo is know as the three minds – Mittsu No kokoro. The three minds are:

  1. Zenshin: the preparatory mind;
  2. Tsushin: the concentrating mind, and;
  3. Zanshin: the remaining mind.

These three minds or states are expressed and applied at all levels of karatedo. The three minds can be described as a never ending circle, parts of the same entity.